English, Maori, Geography

My big goal for the year is to create a bank of Scholarship English lessons that can be used in a ‘flipped’ classroom so that students who can’t make tutorials have access to information covered. I figure that if I write it here and people see it, I will be much more accountable for making it happen. The problem is seeing and hearing  myself on the camera….what the hell is that all about?

  1. English: Wow, this is neat. For words with many definitions or synonyms, it will initially show only the main ones, but you can access the others by double clicking the central word in the diagram. For instance, I wanted to see how it handled the word “run”, which has a ridiculous number of definitions in English. I was initially disappointed with results, but when I double clicked the central “run”, the diagram went nuts adding more spokes. Try the same for hat.

Edit: After double clicking to expand the diagram, don’t double click again. Trying that on the word “run” just caused it to enter a non-stop attempt to expand further.

Capture

http://visuwords.com/

 

2. Maori: I’m really proud to be a New Zealander and a big part of that pride comes from an awareness of our unique cultural make-up. The Maori culture is hugely important to what it means to be a ‘Kiwi’ so I’m pleased to be able to share that, especially with overseas visitors to this blog.

(I was looking though some of my favourite NZ films and I realised that director Taika Waititi was at the helm of three of my all time laugh out loud best: Scarfies, Boy, and Eagle vs Shark….he also directed What we do in the Shadows, and Hunt for the Wilderpeople, showcasing the humour that is an important part of Maori culture and Kiwi life!)

Capture6

http://www.tamakimaorivillage.co.nz/interactive-map

http://www.tokureo.maori.nz/index.cfm/1,186,0,43,html

 

3. Geography: The technology on this seems a bit old school now…so because it’s a bit light on desirability, (kinda like the last biscuit that’s gone a bit stale) I’ve also included a satellite font creator…..don’t know how you might use it though!

Capture5

http://www.cyark.org/

Capture

http://type.aerial-bold.com/tw/

Leave a Reply

